BMI celebrates the winners of their Latin awards 2022

BMI (Broadcast Music, Inc.) presented tonight the 29th installment of its Latin Awards, in which it honored reggaeton pioneers Wisin & Yandel with the BMI Presidential Award for their exceptional talent and artistry.

During the ceremony, BMI also honored the leading Latino songwriters, music publishers, and administrators of the most performed Spanish-language songs of the past year in the United States.

BMI President and CEO Mike O’Neill and BMI Vice President of Creative Latin Music Jesús González hosted the evening at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, California.

Wisin & Yandel began their career in the late 1990s and released their first album Los Reyes del Nuevo Milenio in 2000. That initial impact was followed by a succession of albums that established their talent and propelled Latin urban music forward, influencing new artists for years.

Over the decades, the revered duo achieved worldwide success, winning multiple Latin GRAMMYs, Billboard Latin Music Awards, and Premios Lo Nuestro, among other accolades.

Wisin & Yandel joins an esteemed list of previous winners of the BMI Presidential Award, including Carlos Vives, Gloria Trevi, Juanes, Luis Fonsi, Mario Quintero, and Pitbull, among others.

After receiving their award, Wisin & Yandel wowed the audience with an electrifying performance of several of their biggest hits, including “Now it is,” “Pam pam” and “Rakata.”

The top songwriters, publishers, and managers of the most performed Latin songs of the past year were also honored during the ceremony. Puerto Rican hitmaker Tainy won the award for Contemporary Latin Songwriter of the Year for his work on nine of the most performed Latin songs of 2021, including “Caramelo”, “Dákiti”, “La Noche de anoche”, “La nota”, “The saint, “Safaera”, “Telepathy”, “One day” and “I twerk alone”.

Mexican composer Jesús Omar Tarazón took home the Regional Mexican Composer award for writing four of the most performed regional Mexican songs of the year, including “Altamente probable”, “La Casita”, “Qué maldición” and “Somos Los Que Somos “.

The mega-hit “Dákiti” by Tainy, Egbert Rosa “Haze”, La Paciencia, and Nydia Yera Laner won the coveted award for Contemporary Latin Song of Year, while Pedro Tovar’s “Con Tus Besos” won Regional Mexican Song of the Year. Anus.

Universal Music Publishing Group earned BMI’s prestigious Latin Publisher of the Year award with 19 of the most performed songs in its repertoire.

John Michael

“John Michael" is a Online Editor specialist with a decade of successful experience in News Publication PR management. John specializes in news and regularly attends national training sessions to showcase new Publication trends, such as self-service, wellness , health, and Politics and Entertainment.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button